Skip to main content

New exclusive discount codes available! Save up to 92% on prop firm challenges.

Prop Firm Compare Logo

Topstep vs Vest Markets

Topstep vs Vest Markets: Key Differences

There is a modest pricing gap between these firms. Vest Markets comes in at $76 for the $50K evaluation while the other charges $109 — a $33 difference. That is roughly the cost of a reset at most firms, so it is worth factoring in if you budget for multiple attempts. Check available Vest Markets discount codes for additional savings.

The profit split gap is notable. Topstep returns 90% of your profits, putting $900 in your pocket for every $1,000 earned. The other firm's 80% split means you would receive $800 on that same amount — a $100 per-thousand difference that scales with every payout.

Topstep provides $2,000 of drawdown room compared to $600 — an extra $1,400 buffer that can be the difference between surviving a losing streak and blowing an account. Vest Markets's static (doesn't trail) drawdown is more favorable than Topstep's end-of-day trailing calculation, giving you steadier risk limits during profitable runs.

Vest Markets sets the bar lower with a $1,000 profit target versus $3,000. Additionally, Vest Markets has no minimum day requirement — you can pass as fast as you trade — whereas Topstep mandates at least 2 days.

Topstep does not enforce a daily loss limit while Vest Markets caps daily losses at $300. These operational differences can shape your day-to-day experience, particularly if your strategy depends on volatility around economic releases or requires more intraday flexibility.

These two firms take meaningfully different approaches to their challenge programs. The right pick depends on what you prioritize: lower cost of entry, a bigger share of profits, or more lenient risk parameters. Consider which rules align with how you actually trade, not just which numbers look best on paper.

View the full details on each firm's page: Topstep rules & pricing and Vest Markets rules & pricing.

We have conducted full, first-person reviews of Topstep and Vest Markets.

Topstep vs Vest Markets: Prices & Rules

 TopstepVest Markets
AccountNo Activation Fee $50,0001-Step $10,000
Price$109$76 ($80 before 5% off)
Activation feeNone listedNone listed
Profit target$3,000$1,000
Max drawdown$2,000 (end-of-day trailing)$600 (static (doesn't trail))
Daily loss limitNone listed$300
Min trading days2None listed
Funded profit split90%80%
Funded max drawdown$2,000 (end-of-day trailing)$600 (static (doesn't trail))

Trading Rules: Side-by-Side

RuleTopstepVest Markets
News TradingAllowedAllowed
Weekend HoldingNot allowedNot specified
Overnight HoldingNot allowedAllowed
HedgingNot allowedNot specified
Copy TradingAllowedNot specified
Expert Advisors (EAs)AllowedNot allowed

Rules shown reflect the $50K challenge account. Some rules may differ by account size or type.

Which Firm Is Right for You?

The best prop firm depends on your experience level, trading style, and priorities. Here is how Topstep and Vest Markets stack up for different types of traders.

Budget-Conscious Beginners

New to prop firms and want to minimize risk while learning the ropes.

Our pick

Topstep

  • +Lower entry cost at $76 vs $109
  • +More forgiving $2,000 max drawdown gives beginners extra room

Experienced Traders

Consistent track record, focused on maximizing earnings and scaling capital.

Our pick

Topstep

  • +Higher 90% profit split means more earnings per trade
  • +Expert advisors supported for automated strategies
  • +Higher scaling potential up to $750,000

Conservative Swing Traders

Prefer wider stops, lower risk, and the flexibility to hold positions longer.

Our pick

Vest Markets

  • +Static drawdown doesn't trail your balance, providing stable risk parameters
  • +Larger $2,000 drawdown buffer for safer position management
  • +Overnight positions permitted for longer-term setups

Frequently Asked Questions

What does a $50K challenge cost at Topstep vs Vest Markets?

Vest Markets is the more affordable choice at $76 for their $50K challenge, versus $109 at Topstep. The Vest Markets price reflects their 5% discount.

How do Topstep and Vest Markets profit splits compare?

Topstep gives you 90% of your trading profits versus 80% at Vest Markets. In practice, if you earn $2,000 in a payout cycle, you would receive $1800 from Topstep and $1600 from Vest Markets — a $200 difference per $2,000 earned.

Which firm has easier drawdown rules for the $50K account?

Topstep provides a $2,000 max drawdown compared to $600 at Vest Markets — $1,400 more breathing room. Vest Markets's static (doesn't trail) calculation is friendlier than Topstep's end-of-day trailing.

Can I trade during news events at Topstep or Vest Markets?

Both Topstep and Vest Markets allow news trading. This is particularly valuable for traders who capitalize on volatility around FOMC announcements, NFP releases, and CPI data drops.

How quickly can I get paid at Topstep vs Vest Markets?

Payout timelines are similar at both firms, typically requiring around 5 profitable trading days. Both support multiple withdrawal methods.

Which firm is better for beginner futures traders?

For beginners, Vest Markets has an edge thanks to lower challenge fee, no minimum day requirement. These features reduce the pressure while you are still developing consistency. That said, both firms are viable — the best choice depends on your specific trading approach and budget.

Related Comparisons

Related Resources

Data is updated regularly but may not reflect the latest changes. Always verify current pricing and rules on each firm's official website before making a decision.